Conference Program
Abstract Submission
Student Travel Grant
Visa Information
Workshop Topics
Accomodations / Travel
Important Dates
Program Committee
Satellite Meetings
Venue & Social Events
Annapolis Information
Annapolis Weather
Contact Us


US Transport Taskforce Workshop TTF 2012: Annapolis, MD April 10-13, 2012

Purpose of the Meeting

The ultimate goal of the work of the Transport Task Force is a predictive understanding of plasma transport leading, in the end, to transport control. As we have pointed out previously, to achieve success in transport science, it is essential to characterize local fluctuations and transport in toroidal plasma, to understand the basic mechanisms responsible for transport, and ultimately, to control these transport processes. These goals must be pursued in multiple areas, including ion thermal transport, electron thermal transport, particle transport, momentum transport, and the physics of the H mode and edge pedestal. Demonstrating our understanding requires multiple, successful, quantitative tests of theory, simulation and modeling using experiments in fusion-relevant and basic plasmas.

Meeting Format

This year, the TTF Workshop will consist of:

i.   Special Plenary Topical Contributed Sessions
ii.  Working Group Sessions
iii. Posters

This year we plan to hold two special interdisciplinary plenary contributed sessions. The topics of these sessions are
Experimental characterization of the H-mode pedestal structure and transport processes, and comparison with modeling and theory and P2: Transport in Low Torque Plasmas  Refer to the Workshop Topics link for further details

TTF Executive Committee

Stanley Kaye (Chair) skaye@pppl.gov

George Tynan (Dep. Chair) gtynan@ucsd.edu

C.S. Chang cschang@cims.nyu.edu

Pat Diamond diamondph@gmail.com
Todd Evans evans@fusion.gat.com

Guo-Yong Fu gfu@pppl.gov
Punit Gohil gohil@fusion.gat.com

Chris Holland holland@fusion.gat.com
Rajesh Maingi rmaingi@pppl.gov
John Rice rice@psfc.mit.edu
Lothar Schmitz schmitz@ucla.edu
Tom Rognlien rognlien@llnl.gov

Wayne Solomon solomon@fusion.gat.com
Gary Staebler staebler@fusion.gat.com

Mike van Zeeland vanzeeland@fusion.gat.com

International Advisors

Clemente Angioni (Chair of EU TTF) cla@rzg.mpg.de
Xavier Garbet xavier.garbet@cea.fr
Carlos Hidalgo carlos.hidalgo@ciemat.es

Katsumi Ida ida@nifs.ac.jp
Guosheng Xu gsxu@ipp.ac.cn
Masatoshi Yagi yagi@riam.kyushu-u.ac.jp


Conference Organization

Conference Chairman

Stanley Kaye
Princeton Plasma Physics Lab
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08543 USA
Phone: 609-243-3162
Fax: 609-243-3233
Email: skaye@pppl.gov

Conference Organizers

Marianne Tyrrell
Princeton Plasma Physics Lab
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08543 USA
Phone: 609-243-3003
Email: mtyrrell@pppl.gov


Conference Program
Now available.
Workshop Presentations
Not yet Available!
Web Form Release
Now available.
Workshop Abstracts
Not yet available.
Questions? Need Help?
e-mail: ttf2012@pppl.gov